Board / Staff

Board of directors              

Alan Macrae, President







Author of Mud, Space and Spirit, the pioneering book of New Mexico 60’s architecture, a native New Mexican and local builder, he is also a published poet and novelist. 


Janet Webb, Vice President





Janet was the owner of Webb Design Inc., a design and marketing company focused on the tourism industry and the fine arts arena, until her retirement in 2015. She is involved with several other Taos arts organizations – Paseo Project, Harwood Museum of Art, included. She has lived in Taos since 1974.


Prudy Abeln, Treasurer




BA in Political Science/Education from Colorado College and an MBA from the University of Utah. Most of her career Prudy was a Mortgage Loan Officer with Wells Fargo Home Mortgage. She is Past President of Taos Association of B&B Inns as well as immediate Past President of New Mexico Bed & Breakfast Association (NMBBA).  She is also a past Assistant Governor for Rotary District 5520.


Rebecca Lenzini, Secretary





Rebecca Lenzini: Owner of The Charleston Advisor, a trade journal serving libraries and publishers, which is read by over 2,000 subscribers worldwide and Nighthawk Press, a new Taos-based publishing company.


Kathy Fitzgerald

Magna cum laude in English from Harvard University. Interpreter for national Italian TV station in Rome, Italy; worked at Boston’s PBS TV station; co-founder of Ithaca Films, a film production entity; board member of Poet’s Theater in Cambridge, Massachusetts; in California was active on boards such as Global Fund for Women. She and her husband, Michael, have produced numerous films shot across the world including several set in the southwest, "The Three Burials," and "The Homesman."


Jim Yates




Jim worked overseas from 2006-2014 for the American Embassies in Tanzania, Ukraine, and Guyana. In Tanzania, he worked as the Media PEPFAR Outreach Coordinator writing articles and coordinating with the local media to raise awareness about HIV/AIDS. Prior to that he developed a small subdivision and he is currently active with the Taos Rotary Club.


Colette LaBouff




Colette is Executive Director of the Taos Center for the Arts. She has an MFA in poetry a Ph.D. in English from University of California, Irvine. She is the author of Mean (U. of Chicago Press, 2008), a book of prose poems, and "Holdings," a text-object forthcoming from Container Press in 2019. She is currently the Poetry Editor at Zócalo Public Square.


Jan Smith, Executive Director              






Jan Smith has an MFA in Creative Writing from Goddard College, was the curator of theSOMOS Summer/Winter Writers Series from 2009-2015, and is currently the Executive Director of  SOMOS. She is a 2012 recipient of an award from Southwest Writers for her short story, "Breasts," and a 2014 first place award winner for an excerpt from her memoir," Blink Like Crazy."


Ariana Kramer, Development and Communications Director; Poetry Month Curator

Raised in Taos, Ariana holds a BA in Biology (Reed College) and an MS in Leadership in Ecology, Culture & Learning (Portland State University). She has worked for many nonprofits in roles including volunteer, office manager, educator, program and volunteer coordinator, executive assistant and director. She is a freelance writer and poet. 


Johanna Debiase, Prose Month Curator

Johanna DeBiase is the author of Mama & the Hungry Hole (Wordcraft of Oregon, 2015). She writes from New Mexico where she has been spellbound by the energy vortex of Taos Mountain for over a dozen years. Originally from New York, she earned her BA in Literature and Creative Writing from Bard College and her MFA in Creative Writing from Goddard College. Her creative work—including short stories, flash fiction and video poems— has appeared in Hayden’s Ferry Review, Portland Review, Atticus Review, Monkeybicycle, Queen Mob’s Tea House, Convergence and Prick of the Spindle, among others. When she is not writing, she teaches yoga, collages, sells vintage clothing and cooks vegetarian food for her daughter and husband. Visit for more information.


Krystal Cretecos, Young Writers Program Curator

Krystal graduated from CU Boulder with a BA in Psych/Anthro and received a TEFL certification to teach English abroad. She ended up traveling the world for five years, teaching English and working for non-profits, mostly in Latin America, where she became fluent in Spanish, mediocre at Portuguese, and enraptured by new cultures. Two years ago she was reminded of the majesty of her own home land by Standing Rock and Yellowstone and landed in Taos with a Volvo and a backpack. Since then she has self-published a book of poetry, Alight From Within, become an amateur harpist and singer, begun martial training in gongfu and qigong, taught many a poetry and writing workshop to youth and become locally famous within groups of children as an impromptu storyteller/fairy. She currently facilitates a Girl's Empowerment Club at Taos Day School, teaches private writing classes, nannies, teaches media literacy and works with SOMOS Young Writers Program as both curator and volunteer for a 5th and 6th grade poetry crew. She writes primarily poetry but also children's stories, songs, short stories, memoir, and grants when necessary, always with a deep reverence and gratitude for the Earth, the Water, the People and Life.


James Navé, Taos Storytelling Festival Director

James Navé is a  facilitator, poet, and storyteller at Imaginative Storm Workshops. He attended UNC & Vermont College of Fine Arts (MFA) and Lives in NYC, Asheville, Taos, & Paris. He has been the Taos Storytelling Festival Director since 2017.