Taos Writers Showcase

For two decades, SOMOS sponsored a successful six- to eight-week Winter & Summer Writers Series, which highlighted local, regional, and occasional national writers and poets. In the fall of 2017, we decided to change the series to quarterly and recruit only nationally and internationally known writers and poets. Since our move to Civic Plaza Drive, with its enlarged space, we have begun hosting ongoing readings from both local and regional writers. Our shift to a quarterly Writers Showcase brings authors—many of whom we hadn’t been able to attract in the past—to Taos for both readings and workshops.

To inaugurate the series, we presented best-selling author Tommy Orange on January 5, 2018, to a sold-out audience; he read from his as-yet-unpublished There, There. In April, we collaborated with the Taos Jazz Bebop Society to host Pulitzer Prize–winning poet Tyehimba Jess, accompanied by the John Rangel Trio. Our keynote speaker for the second annual Taos Writers Conference was novelist, essayist, and memoirist Kate Christensen, and we completed our series with a reading and workshop by Naomi Shihab Nye in the fall of 2018.

In 2019, we started off the series with Pulitzer Prize–winning biographer Caroline Fraser, author of Prairie Fires. We followed in April with award-winning poet Jamaal May (Hum). In May, we’ll feature Mexican-American author Francisco Cantú, whose book The Line Becomes a River reflects on his four years as a U.S. Border Patrol agent. His presentation will addresses border and immigration issues in collaboration with two local advocacy groups, Taos United and Taos Immigrant Allies.

Arthur Sze will be the keynote speaker for the third annual Taos Writers Conference, in July 2019.

Open Tues-Fri  10am-4pm; Sat 10am-2pm  575.758.0081  108 Civic Plaza Drive

Mailing Address: P.O. Box 3225, Taos, NM 87571


SOMOS programs are made possible in part by these organizations: New Mexico Arts • Taos Community Foundation • The McCune Foundation • The National Endowment For The Arts • The Virginia Wellington Cabot Foundation • The Peter And Madeleine Martin Foundation for the Arts • The Santa Fe Community Foundation • Taos County Lodgers Tax • The Richard B. Siegel Foundation • TaosNetLLC for high speed internet service 

A group of women reading as part of the SOMOS writers showcase